Beth McCoy named SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

The Board of Trustees of the State University of New York has awarded Geneseo English Professor Beth McCoy the title of SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor.

From the SUNY press release:

The Distinguished Professorship recognizes and honors mastery of teaching. For this prestigious tribute to be conferred, candidates must have demonstrated consistently superior mastery of teaching, outstanding service to students, and commitment to their ongoing intellectual growth, scholarship and professional growth, and adherence to rigorous academic standards and requirements. Further, a faculty member must have attained and held the rank of full professor for five years, have completed at least three years of full-time teaching on the nominating campus, 10 years of full-time teaching in the System, and must have regularly carried a full-time teaching load as defined by the campus at the undergraduate, graduate, or professional level.

About Professor McCoy herself, the press release accurately observes:

Both students and other faculty extol [Professor McCoy’s] generosity as a mentor, and note that what they learn from her stays with them long after they leave her classroom or office. Professor McCoy … is highly skilled at bringing everyone in her classroom into the conversation regardless of their background or inclination to tackle difficult questions. Professor McCoy sets a high bar and assists her students in achieving beyond their own expectations. She has been successful in adapting this model to campus-wide teach-ins, which she introduced as a method of engaging the Geneseo community in national and local issues related to race, identity and privilege.

SUNY’s distinguished ranks represent the highest system honor conferred upon SUNY instructional faculty. All distinguished faculty in active service within SUNY also become members of the SUNY Distinguished Academy.

Professor McCoy joins Professors Ron Herzman and Gene Stelzig as active English department faculty members holding the rank of Distinguished Teaching Professor.


2012 Award, Scholarship, and Contest Winners Announced

The Department of English is proud to announce the following award, scholarship, and writing contest winners for 2012. Congratulations to all of you!

Award and Scholarship Winners

Graduating Senior Awards

William T. Beauchamp Literature Award
William Porter

Patricia Conrad Lindsay Memorial Award
Elizabeth Barber and Jesse Goldberg

Calvin Israel Award in the Humanities
Emilie O’Neill

Joseph M. O’Brien Memorial Award
Shea Frazier and Justine Rosen

Rosalind R. Fisher Memorial Award for Outstanding Student Teaching in English
Kaitlin Curcio

Scholarship awards

William Cook/Walter Herzman Memorial Scholarship
Joseph Flynn

Natalie Selser Freed Memorial Scholarship
Cailin Kowalewski

Rita K. Gollin Senior Year Scholarship for Excellence in American Literature
Emily Olmstead

Rita K. Gollin Junior Year Scholarship for Excellence in American Literature
Ava Russell

Hans Gottschalk Award
Christine O’Neill

Bonnie C. Henzel Memorial Scholarship
Gretchen Barkhuff, Connor Burgevin, Yael Massen

Joseph M. O’Brien Transfer Scholarship
Rebecca Smarcz

Jesse M. Rodgers Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Shannon Dennehy

Don Watt Memorial Scholarship
Pamela Howe

Writing Contest Winners

Jérôme de Romanet de Beaune Award in African American Studies: First Place Co-winner
Gretchen Barkhuff, “Entrusted with Conversation: Walking Through English 337”

Jérôme de Romanet de Beaune Award in African American Studies: First Place Co-winner
Stephanie Iasiello, “Her Own Pen? Authorship and (mis) Attribution in the Story of Mattie J. Jackson”

Jérôme de Romanet de Beaune Award in African American Studies: Second Place
Jesse Goldberg, “Theatre as an Avenue for ‘Re-remembering: Grappling with African American History in the Drama of Suzan-Lori Parks and August Wilson”

English Department Award in Creative Nonfiction: First Place
Christina Mortellaro, “Pretty in Blue”

English Department Award in Creative Nonfiction: Second Place
Megan Cicolello, “Shadow Play”

English Department Award in Creative Nonfiction: Third Place
Christine O’Neill, “The Patron Saint of Me”

John H. Parry Award in Literary Criticism: First Place
William Porter, “The Economy of the Merchant of Venice, or: Shylock, Antonio, and the Drama of Love and Wealth”

John H. Parry Award in Literary Criticism: Second Place
Alanna Smith, “The Friend Zone”

John H. Parry Award in Literary Criticism: Third Place
Christine O’Neill, “More Sinned Against than Sinning (Macaulayism)”

Agnes Rigney Award in Drama
Pamela Howe, “Resplendent Quetzal”

Lucy Harmon Award in Fiction: First Place
Pamela Howe, “Sloped Letters on Monday”

Lucy Harmon Award in Fiction: Second Place
Lara Elmayan, “Lungs”

Lucy Harmon Award in Fiction: Third Place
Alanna Smith, “Samson”

Irene E. Smith Award in First-Year Writing
Liam Cody, “What Christopher Boone Likes, What He Likes to Read, and What is Real”

Mary Thomas Award in Poetry: First Place
Yael Massen, “Skinned”

Mary Thomas Award in Poetry: Second Place
Megan Ross, “Babies Asleep on the Jetty”

Mary Thomas Award in Poetry: Third Place
Alicia Goodwin, “Orchard of Pressing Lips”

Mary Thomas Award in Poetry: Honorable Mention
Shannon Dennehy, “Concerning Heaven”

Mary Thomas Award in Poetry: Honorable Mention
Hannah Schmidt, “Some New York Tables”