Herzman presents on Dante in the classroom

Distinguished Teaching Professor of English Ron Herzman
Distinguished Teaching Professor of English Ron Herzman
At the annual meeting of the Dante Society of America this past weekend (May 17), Distinguished Teaching Professor Ron Herzman participated in a panel titled “Dante in the Classroom and the Community.” He was joined on the panel by Terry Quinn, Barbara Rosenblitt, and William Stephany. The panelists discussed how they’ve used Dante in their teaching and in presentations to non-academic audiences.

Since 1999, Herzman and Stephany have together organized ten NEH-funded seminars on Dante’s Commedia in Siena, Italy.


Peace Poetry 2014

SUNY Geneseo’s Department of English recognized the winners of the Genesee Valley Peace Poetry Contest on Mother’s Day, May 11, at 3 p.m. in Wadsworth Auditorium on campus. Prof. Rob Doggett organizes the yearly contest for kindergarten through 8th grade students from 19 area school districts in the Genesee Valley.

This year, the department received more than 1,200 poems from which 80 winners were selected.

You can watch video of the awards ceremony, at which the winners read their poems, here.

English major Amy Bishop to appear in Susquehanna Review

amy_bishop_headshotThree poems by rising senior English major Amy Bishop (Creative Writing) will appear in the upcoming issue of the Susquehanna Review, an annual international undergraduate journal run by students at Susquehanna University that features work in fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and visual art.

The three poems are “Envisaging Hot Springs During the Winter Solstice”; “[Winter punctures my sore spots]”; and “Inheriting Grandmother’s Wedding Plates.”

The current issue of the review contains a poem by SUNY Geneseo creative writing track alum Dan O’Brien.

2014 English department awards and scholarships

We’re pleased to announce this year’s winners of department awards and scholarships. We’ll be celebrating these formally in the Walter Harding Lounge, Welles 111, on Wednesday, May 7 at 3:30 p.m.


  • Natalie Selser Freed Memorial Scholarship – Rebecca Miller and Sean Neill
  • Rita K. Gollin Senior Year Scholarship for Excellence in American Literature – Jessica Irwin
  • Rita K. Gollin Junior Year Scholarship for Excellence in American Literature – Jo-Ann Wong
  • Hans Gottschalk Award – Matthew McClure
  • Joseph M. O’Brien Memorial Scholarship – Andre Doeman and Michelle Mundt
  • Don Watt Memorial Scholarship – Christina Mortellaro and Hannah Pruch
  • Bonnie Henzel Memorial Scholarship – Julianne DeSilva, Erin Koehler, Sarah Rusnak, and Eric Wegman
  • Jesse Rodgers Scholarship – Nikki Toner and Sean Fischer

Writing Awards

African American Studies

  • 1st – Nikita Rumsey
  • 2nd – Erin Beach
  • 3rd – Megan Nolan

Critical Essay

  • 1st – Jarad Sassone-McHugh
  • 2nd – Christine O’Neill and Nikita Rumsey
  • Honorable Mention – Meghan Kearns and Gregory Palermo

First Year Writing

  • 1st – Jessica Heppler
  • 2nd – John Panus
  • 3rd – Erik Mebust

Creative Non-Fiction

  • 1st – Suraj Uttamchandani
  • 2nd – Adam Camiolo
  • 3rd – Meghan Kearns


  • 1st – Kirstin Freiman
  • 2nd – Megan Nolan
  • 3rd – Katie Soares
  • Honorable Mention – Stephon Lawrence


  • 1st – Lucia LoTempio
  • 2nd – Erin Koehler
  • 3rd – Bibi Lewis
  • Honorable Mention – Devon Poniatowski